Cpf; Crossroads in Cultural Studies, Tampere, Finland 1-4 July 2014

Crossroads in Cultural Studies, Tampere, Finland 1-4 July 2014



Website: http://www.crossroads2014.net

Contact: info at crossroads2014.net

First CFP deadline (session proposals): August 30th, 2013


The 10th Crossroads Conference in Cultural Studies will be hosted by the School of Communication, Media and Theatre (CMT) at the University of Tampere jointly with the Society for Cultural Studies in Finland and the Association for Cultural Studies (ACS).

The first Crossroads conference was organized in Tampere in 1996. The conference will thus be traveling back to its roots to celebrate the tenth Crossroads in Cultural Studies. Situated between two lakes, Tampere is the largest inland city in the Nordic countries. The city is easily accessible by direct flights from European cities and by train/bus from the capital Helsinki. The venue of the conference will be the Tampere Hall, recognized as the best congress centre in Finland.

To this conference, we are very pleased to have invited the following keynote and plenary speakers:

Elena Trubina (Russia)
Wang Xiaoming (China)
Benjamin Arditi (Mexico)
Tejaswini Niranjana (India)
Brenda Yeoh (Singapore)
Catalina Cortés Severino (Columbia/Italy)
(list to be updated with more speakers soon)

All topics relevant to Cultural Studies are welcome. We also have some suggested topics listed as food for thought:

affect, body, materiality, power, transnationalism,senses, cultural economy, mobility, performativity, class, cultural geographies, cultural practices, alternative futures, alternative knowledges, crisis

Submit your proposal now online!
The first call for sessions and individual papers is now open. Check the submission guidelines and submit a proposal online at the conference website before August 30th, 2013. The second call (especially for individual papers) will be issued in September.

ACS Assistance Program for Crossroads 2014.
The Association for Cultural Studies will offer a small number of grants to assist participants from ACS under-represented regions with travel accommodation or registration expenses. Please see the conference website ("registration") for more info.

Spread the news!
Please forward this message to your colleagues and friends. We look forward to seeing you in Tampere in 2014!


Organizing Committee

Mikko Lehtonen, chair (University of Tampere)
Meri Kytö, conference secretary (University of Eastern Finland)
Pertti Alasuutari (University of Tampere)
Catherine Driscoll (University of Sydney)
Heikki Hellman (University of Tampere)
Laura Huttunen (University of Tampere)
Eeva Jokinen (University of Eastern Finland)
Olli Juhala (University of Turku)
Anita Kangas (University of Jyväskylä)
Anu Kantola (University of Helsinki)
Merja Kinnunen (University of Lapland)
Risto Kunelius (University of Tampere)
Frans Mäyrä (University of Tampere)
Minna Nerg (University of Jyväskylä)
Susanna Paasonen (University of Turku)
Emilia Palonen (University of Helsinki)
Tuija Saresma (University of Jyväskylä)
Katja Valaskivi (University of Tampere)