Cfp; Women, Truth, Action, An International Conference in Philosophy 10–12, October, 2013

Call for Papers: Women, Truth, Action, An International Conference in Philosophy
10–12, October, 2013, University of Helsinki, Finland

Keynote Speakers include: Lena Halldenius (Sweden), Sally Haslanger (USA), Alice Pugliese (Italy), Lanei Rodemayer (USA) and Charlotte Witt (USA)

We hereby invite abstracts for papers to the forthcoming conference Women, Truth, Action, at the University of Helsinki. The conference will focus on three fields and themes informed by the gender perspective: phenomenology (“Subject, Body, World”), contemporary metaphysics (“Meaning and Objectivity”), and politics (“Action and
Change”). The conference is motivated by the fact that in all these fields women philosophers work with excellent results and with innovative approaches. We wish to bring together women scholars from different philosophical traditions – analytic and continental – as well as from history of philosophy so that they can share their insights on common topics of interest and establish a dialogue across dividing lines that mainly are dogmatic and seldom beneficial for female scholars.

We welcome proposals from senior researchers as well as from graduate students. Proposals should consist of a suggested title and an abstract (max. 400 words). Proposals will be blind reviewed. Please, provide the title of the paper, your name, affiliation and contact information in the cover letter. Remember to give the same title in the abstract and in the cover letter!

Deadline for submission: April 1, 2013. Submitters will be notified of the decisions by May 1, 2013.

To submit a proposal, send it as an email attachment and with a cover letter to Virpi Lehtinen (virpi.lehtinen at Please, include the title of the proposal also to the covering letter. Ensure that the subject line of the email reads: WTA 2013 Proposal.

Organizers: Sara Heinämaa’s Project Ethics of Renewal (HCAS, UH, AF) and The Association for Women and Feminist Philosophers in Finland (NFY)

Sponsors: Finnish Cultural Foundation, Subjectivity, Historicity and Communality (SHC), Philosophical Psychology, Morality and Politics Research Unit (PMP)

Organization Committee: Virpi Lehtinen, Sara Heinämaa, Martina Reuter, Erika Ruonakoski and Sanna Tirkkonen (University of Helsinki)

For more information: